HPIM1849.JPG
THE PARTY’S OVER

 

Bye-bye Jericho Beach Hostel!

Bye-bye beachfront location!

Bye-bye Northwest Marine Drive!

Bye-bye geese!

I won’t be able to stay at the hostel again until next May – or will I?…

There may yet be an option.

Heard a funny story this morning from the same person who told me about the hostel being a squat for 15 years during the hippy heydays in the 60s and 70s. He said that  after October 1st (or thereabouts), the municipally-owned parking lots at Jericho Beach (including the one at the hostel) become a sea of RVs and trailers, as parking between October and May is free. People pull up in their RVs and squat … er … camp there all winter. The city leaves the public washrooms open along the beach, which means that at the very least the ‘campers’ have running water and a toilet.

So now all I have to do is buy an RV and hire someone to drive it to Jericho Beach in October and then drive it away in May. And I’d also have to figure out how to generate power in order to heat the rig, power my laptop, and get some lights.

Of course I’m only kidding.

Or am I? …

I can “practice camp” a few beaches down from Jericho, but it’ll cost me $57 bucks a night, (and “why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free?”).

https://www.airbnb.ca/rooms/13644770?sug=50

HPIM1795.JPG
GOOSE FAREWELL RECEPTION LINE

 

 

 

